Lewis Dene's Inside Track | DJMagAdmin.com Skip to main content

Lewis Dene's Inside Track

Lewis Dene's Inside Track

More inside knowledge on the freshest tracks across the board...

Greg Stainer's 'Long Verb' on Kinky Malinki is one of those irritably catchy instrumentals that just reeks of crossover potential and smacks of instant familiarity. No samples, just some 'inspired by' reference points add up to make this haunting number a must-have item - that's if you know what you're looking for! The same could also be said of Andy BopH's 'A New Day' on Nukleuz's new Big In Ibiza imprint. Living up to the label's name, this is another strong offering, a wonderful melodic Dutch progressive instrumental with big tribal drums and afro-centric percussion adding a twist that really reminds of Sensurreal's 'No White Clouds In My Blue Sky' from back in '99. It's screaming for a vocal but creative DJs will already have their favourite a capella lined up to drop over it.

  It's taken Italian Monica Bragato, aka Moony, far too long to come up with a follow-up worthy of 2002's pan-European hit 'Dove (I'll Be Loving You)', but in 'I Don't Know Why', on Airplane, she stands her best chance yet. Her haunting delivery sits best atop the foundation created by remixer Jerome D'isma-ae that blends synthetic chords with electronic strings to great effect.

  Never short of production quality, Philly's King Britt has a trio of new mixes emblazoned with his FiveSix moniker. Solange's soulful 'I Decided' sits in juxtapose to the abstract eclecticness of his 'Nude' mix for Radiohead, but best of all is the return of '70s soul great Dee Dee Bridgewater with the scrumptious 'Children Go Round'.

The 'Elmore Grove EP' by newcomers Captive State is produced by Nick Franglen, one half of acclaimed leftfield/chillout act Lemon Jelly. None other than Roxy Music keyboardist and ambient pioneer Brian Eno has even endorsed the group's debut on Genuine. Their sound has been described as "akin to Air remixing the Beta Band".

  DJ/producer/vocalist and all round nice guy, Ron Carroll has been working with Cece Peniston on a song called 'Crank It Up' for the Dutch Spinnin' stable. The same label is also releasing his upcoming single 'Bump To Dis'. Meanwhile, 2009 will see a new chapter in the Chicagoan's career as he's set to work with rappers Shawna and Lupe Fiasco, who plan to dip their toes into house music.

Acclaimed reissue compilation label Strut Records launch a new album series under the banner 'Inspiration Information', exploring some mouth-watering one-off collaborations from artists at different ends of the music spectrum. The series kicks off next month with a heavyweight soundclash between Detroit soul maverick Amp Fiddler and reggae legends Sly & Robbie. Then fresh from his vocal work touring with Massive Attack, reggae legend Horace Andy embarks on his 'Inspiration Information' sessions with Ashley Beedle.

  Next from Rebirth Records is Silky Sunday's summery vocal offering 'Friend', mixed by Sandy Rivera, Ripperton & Alex Attias and Tomas Hedberg followed by Rennie Foster with 'Devil's Water' - a biggie we're told with Sasha, Holden and Zabiela. Plus they've got 'Funky Music', a new single from Outmode mixed by the Buick Project and Beat Pharmacy. Incidentally, the rather wonderful NUfrequency track 'Go That Deep' with Shara Nelson has just been signed to NRK Records with new mixes in the pipeline too.

  Several decades after John Lennon released the optimistic cry to arms 'Give Peace A Chance', the song returns with Yoko Ono now getting top billing (her vocals originally featured on the choir in Lennon's version) with her adding a new speech to underscore the song's topical plea. Ono's dalliance with the dance market in recent years is nothing new, with Twisted releasing the single backed with a dark, stark and moody Morel version and an uplifting string orchestration from Brazil's DJ Meme.

Contrary to popular belief, both Classic Records and Music For Freaks have not gone anywhere. Instead, according to Luke Solomon, they've just regrouped and as Classic Digital plan to engulf their digital presence with a series of download-only releases of new and remixed material from their extensive catalogue. This will include Rob Mello's 'Critical' (with an amazing new Fabrice Lig remix); the Freaks featuring Robert Owens with 'Right Now' (with a new live version and remixes from Mark Farina, Fine Cut Bodies and Freaks); Brett Johnson's 'Stucco Homes' (mixed by Luke Solomon, Derrick Carter and Greenskeepers); 'Everything Is Changing' from Robbie Hardkiss (inc Justin Harris remix); plus LDOE's sought-after punk-funk track 'Crimes' made over by Solomon and Carter.

EDX is working on a remix of Axwell & Bob Sinclar's 'What A Wonderful World' for Yellow Productions, along with restylings of Kaskade's 'Angel On My Shoulder' and 'Say Yeah' for Yves La Rock.

In Glimmers news, seven months after DJmag gave you 'The Glimmers Are Gee Gee Fazzi', the boys are adding their unique touch to releases by Crystal Castles, Munk and Adam Freeland to name just three. The twins are also close to completing 'The Glimmers Presents Disko Drunkards', which they say will hit the clubs, not the shops, on 1st January 2009.